The aim of 4PAD is to foster interaction between the formal methods communities and systems researchers working on topics in modern parallel, distributed, and network-based processing systems (e.g., autonomous computing systems, cloud computing systems, service-oriented systems and parallel computing architectures).

We solicit papers in all areas of the above mentioned systems, including (but not limited to):

  • Rigorous software engineering approaches and their tool support
  • Model-based approaches, including model-driven development
  • Service- and component-based approaches
  • Semantics, types and logics
  • Formal specification and verification
  • Performance analysis based on formal approaches
  • Formal aspects of programming paradigms and languages
  • Formal approaches to parallel architectures and weak memory models
  • Formal approaches to deployment, run-time analysis, adaptation/evolution, reconfiguration, and monitoring
  • Case studies developed/analyzed with formal approaches
  • Formal stochastic models and analysis
  • Formal methods for large-scale distributed systems
  • Statistical analysis techniques based on formal approaches
  • Energy-efficient networking and data storage
  • Programming languages, paradigms and tools for energy-efficient software design

Special issue
After the conference, selected accepted papers will be invited to a special issue of the International Journal of Parallel Programming.

Programme Committee:

  • Marieke Huisman, University of Twente, Netherlands
  • Emilio Tuosto, University of Leicester, UK
  • Ludovic Henrio, CNRS, France
  • Alan Stewart, Queen's University, UK
  • Elena Sherman, Boise State University, USA
  • John Mullins, Ecole Polytechnique de Montréal, Canada
  • Virginia Niculescu, Babes Bolya University, Romania
  • Scott Owens, University of Kent, UK
  • Alberto Lluch Lafuente, Technical University of Denmark, Denmark
  • Ganesh Gopalakrishnan, University of Utah, USA
  • Mads Dam, KTH, Sweden
  • Gul Agha, University of Illinois, USA
  • Peter Kilpatrick, Queen's University, UK
  • Kento Emoto, Kyushu Institute of Technology, Japan
  • Viktor Vafeiadis, MPI-SWS, Germany